I guess it happens when you have a small team and decide to develop 3 versions at the same time (1.5, 2.0, 2.5) and two of them will be dropped sooner or later. You can focus on only one, thus having way more work force and time dedication to only one version but no...let's slice everything among 3 work of which 2 will be obsolete.
